Local Governing Body

Kippax Ash Tree converted to Academy status alongside some of the Brigshaw Trust partner schools to form the Brigshaw Learning Partnership (BLP). Please visit the BLP website to find out about the Board of Directors and view the Trust's Governance and Financial information.

Each school will continue to have its own headteacher and governing body, and the Brigshaw Learning Partnership Board, which is now responsible for all of our schools, contains representatives from across our community, as well as very experienced and skilled people who share our values, including headteachers, from further afield.


How our Local Governors are appointed:

Parent Governors are elected by the parents of pupils in school. 

Trust Appointed Governors are appointed by the LGB and approved by Brigshaw Learning Partnership

Staff Governors are elected by the staff of the school.

Associate Members are appointed by the Local Governing Body and work in an advisory capacity. Associate Members have no voting rights.

The Headteacher holds an ex-officio position.

The Local Governing Body has three core functions:

Setting the vision and strategic direction
Holding the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team to account for the educational performance of the school
Ensuring financial health, probity and value for money

Our current and recently resigned school Governors are:


Job Role Body who appointed to the LGB and Governor responsibiity
Mr Ken Morton

Retired Head of Service: Young People and Skills covering IAG, Connexions, Youth Service,

Arts and Music Service plus overview of the city Learning Improvement budget.

BLP Chair of the Board


Trust appointed Chair of Governors;  HT Performance Management, Compliance, Leadership and Management, Finance 


Mr Mark Ambrose Leeds City Council Children's Services

Trust appointed Vice Chair; , Special Eductional Needs and Looked After Children


Mrs Amanda Campbell  Headteacher

 Headteacher ExOfficio  position 

Clr Mary Harland Chair of the Outer East Community Committee for Kippax and Methley

Trust Appointed Governor, safeguarding governor


Mr Anthony Dickinson Sports Coach

Staff Governor 


Mrs Alex Harrison Foundation Stage Teacher

Staff Governor


Mrs Carolyn Teale Higher Level Teaching Assistant



Helen Richardson 

ex Head teacher

Trust appointed Gvoernor, reading

Hayley Wilkins  

Parent Governor

Robert Harwood  

Trust Appointed

Gareth Wright   Parent Governor
Vivienne Smithies   Trust Governor


Chair of Governors contact details:

Mr Ken Morton

Contact email: mortok01@brigshawtrust.com

Postal address: Care of the school 

You can find our Governance and Financial Information for The Brigshaw Learning Partnership by clicking on the link below.


Governor Attendance

  FEB 2019   MAY 2019  JUNE 2019  OCT 2019 NOV 2019 JAN 2020  
Ken Morton  A  A  A  A A A  
Mark Ambrose  X X x  
Mary Harland  X A A  
Anthony Dickinson  x x  
Alex Harrison A A  
Amanda Campbell A A  
Carolyn Teale X R  
 Helen Richardson X A  
Hayley Wilkins - - - - - A  
Rob Harwood - - - - - A  
Viv Smithies - - - - - A  


A- Attended




Please find our Governor's documents below:

The Register of Interests for BLP Board and Chief Accounting Officer are on the BLP Website. The Register of Interests and terms of office for local Governors: